Sabtu, 20 Maret 2010

Iguazu Falls are waterfalls of the Iguazu river located on the border of the Brazilian state ofParaná and the Argentineprovince of Misiones. The falls divide the river into the upper and lower Iguazu.

The waterfall system consists of 275 falls along 2.7 kilometers (1.67 miles) of the Iguazu River. Position is at latitude (DMS): 25° 40' 60 S, longitude (DMS): 54° 25' 60 W . Some of the individual falls are up to 82 meters (269 ft) in height, though the majority are about 64 metres (210 ft). The Devil's Throat , a U-shaped, 82-meter-high, 150-meter-wide and 700-meter-long (490 by 2300 feet) cataract, is the most impressive of all, and marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. Two thirds of the falls are within Argentine territory. About 900 meters of the 2.7-kilometer length does not have water flowing over it. The edge of thebasalt cap recedes only 3 mm (0.1 in) per year. The water of the lower Iguazu collects in a canyon that drains into theParaná River at Argentina, shortly downstream from the Itaipu dam.

Jumat, 19 Maret 2010

New 7 Wonders of Nature

In the new seven natural wonders contest, Iguazu Falls were selected among 28 finalists, including four other sites in Latin America which are Salto del Angel in Venezuela, El Yunque in Puerto Rico and Galapagos Islands, Ecuador.

Former UNESCO general director, Federico Mayor Zaragoza was in charge of a group of six professionals who chose the 28 finalists from a list of 77 candidates which were preselected by millions of Internet users.

The choice was made taking into account the ecological, historical legacy, its diversity, beauty, and geographic location for a distribution by continent.

Seven Natural Wonders is a not for profit endeavor committed to protecting and promoting The Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Additionally, SNW seeks to affirm and honor other notable and deserving wonders of the world by working with you to declare the seven wonders for each continent.

As of today public voting continues through the Internet, to define it in 2011. Those selected, in addition to Latin America are: the Bay of Fundy in Canada, the Black Forest in Germany, Bu Tinah Shoals in the United Arab Emirates, the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland and the Dead Sea in Palestine, Jordan and Israel; Vesuvius in Italy, the Ha Long Bay in Vietnam; Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania and the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Papua New Guinea, the Grand Canyon in the United States; Kheitan Grotto in Lebanon, Jeju Island in South Korea; Komodo in Indonesia, the Maldives Islands, Lake Masuria in Poland and the Matterhorn in Switzerland and Italy, Milford Sound in New Zealand, the mud volcanoes in Azerbaijan, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River in Philippines, South Africa Table Mountain, the Uluru in Australia and Taiwan in Yusho.

Source: Momento

Minggu, 14 Maret 2010

The Iguazu Falls generated the surprised feeling that most people will think it will only exist inthe fairy tale story or the adventure story. Some stories said that Iguazu Falls was created by God that was angry because God love was rejected by the local woman. The woman even ran with his sweetheart to avoid her fate.While they trying to escaped from God, God divided the river, so that both of them could not see each other anymore.

Eruption Of Volcano

Scientifically said that Iguazú Falls are the result of a volcanic eruption which left yet another large crack in the earth., around 1,5 mile long and had more than 275 fell that supported from that.

Iguazu Falls was also known as La Garganta del Diablo or Devil’s Throat, and emerged in many films like James Bond movies,Miami Vice (2006), the Kingdom Crystal Skull (2008) and Indiana Jones.

The roar that rumbled Iguazu Falls could be able to be heard through to 5 mile the distance and quite necessarily like that as more than 450.000 gallon accident water above fell each second. Was located between several that was densest the rainforest in South America with a large number of roads and the sight saw the choice, Iguazu Falls was an obligation if in the Argentinan field or Belize.

Rabu, 10 Maret 2010

source and reverance