Jumat, 19 Maret 2010

New 7 Wonders of Nature

In the new seven natural wonders contest, Iguazu Falls were selected among 28 finalists, including four other sites in Latin America which are Salto del Angel in Venezuela, El Yunque in Puerto Rico and Galapagos Islands, Ecuador.

Former UNESCO general director, Federico Mayor Zaragoza was in charge of a group of six professionals who chose the 28 finalists from a list of 77 candidates which were preselected by millions of Internet users.

The choice was made taking into account the ecological, historical legacy, its diversity, beauty, and geographic location for a distribution by continent.

Seven Natural Wonders is a not for profit endeavor committed to protecting and promoting The Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Additionally, SNW seeks to affirm and honor other notable and deserving wonders of the world by working with you to declare the seven wonders for each continent.

As of today public voting continues through the Internet, to define it in 2011. Those selected, in addition to Latin America are: the Bay of Fundy in Canada, the Black Forest in Germany, Bu Tinah Shoals in the United Arab Emirates, the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland and the Dead Sea in Palestine, Jordan and Israel; Vesuvius in Italy, the Ha Long Bay in Vietnam; Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania and the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Papua New Guinea, the Grand Canyon in the United States; Kheitan Grotto in Lebanon, Jeju Island in South Korea; Komodo in Indonesia, the Maldives Islands, Lake Masuria in Poland and the Matterhorn in Switzerland and Italy, Milford Sound in New Zealand, the mud volcanoes in Azerbaijan, the Puerto Princesa Subterranean River in Philippines, South Africa Table Mountain, the Uluru in Australia and Taiwan in Yusho.

Source: Momento 24.com

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar