Sabtu, 20 Maret 2010

Iguazu Falls are waterfalls of the Iguazu river located on the border of the Brazilian state ofParaná and the Argentineprovince of Misiones. The falls divide the river into the upper and lower Iguazu.

The waterfall system consists of 275 falls along 2.7 kilometers (1.67 miles) of the Iguazu River. Position is at latitude (DMS): 25° 40' 60 S, longitude (DMS): 54° 25' 60 W . Some of the individual falls are up to 82 meters (269 ft) in height, though the majority are about 64 metres (210 ft). The Devil's Throat , a U-shaped, 82-meter-high, 150-meter-wide and 700-meter-long (490 by 2300 feet) cataract, is the most impressive of all, and marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. Two thirds of the falls are within Argentine territory. About 900 meters of the 2.7-kilometer length does not have water flowing over it. The edge of thebasalt cap recedes only 3 mm (0.1 in) per year. The water of the lower Iguazu collects in a canyon that drains into theParaná River at Argentina, shortly downstream from the Itaipu dam.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar